Commercial dog and cat breeders in Minnesota must be licensed and inspected by the Board of Animal Health. A commercial breeder is defined (Minnesota Statutes 347.57) as a person who possesses or has an ownership interest in animals and is engaged in the business of breeding animals for sale or for exchange in return for consideration, and who possesses ten or more adult intact animals and whose animals produce more than five total litters of puppies or kittens per year.
To become licensed, the commercial breeder must submit a license application accompanied by the initial license fee. The fee for licensure is $10 per adult intact animal up to a maximum of $250. The commercial breeding facility must then be inspected by the Board of Animal Health to verify that it meets all the requirements specified in Minnesota Statutes 347.57 to 347.64.
BREEDER EXCELLENCE PROGRAM
The Minnesota Board of Animal Health has developed an advisory task force to provide guidance as it develops a Commercial Breeder Excellence program. In 2014, the Minnesota legislature enacted the state’s commercial dog and cat breeder laws. Under these laws the Board is required to develop a program to recognize licensed breeders who demonstrate excellence and exceed the standards and practices of the law.
The task force is comprised of licensed commercial breeders, veterinarians who work with commercial breeders, and Board of Animal Health inspectors and staff. Members will attend quarterly meetings and offer their expertise in identifying and implementing the best fit standards and practices for this program.
3430 129th Ave NW,
Coon Rapids, MN 55448
Monday, September 24, 2018
*Subject to change.
Review of minutes from last meeting: Kayla Pierson
Program goals and intent: Courtney Wheeler
Program standards draft: Courtney Wheeler
Edits to program standards draft: Task force members
Discussion and comments: Task force members
Public comments: Courtney Wheeler
Adjourn and schedule next meeting: Courtney Wheeler