Fields marked with a * are required.
If you'd prefer to print this form and complete a paper copy, please click this link to access a PDF version.
Under Minnesota law, “commercial breeder” means a person who possesses or has an ownership interest in animals and is engaged in the business of breeding animals for sale or for exchange in return for consideration, and who possesses ten or more adult intact animals and whose animals produce more than five total litters of puppies or kittens per year.
To obtain a license, complete this application and submit the fee equal to $10 per adult sexually intact animal (minimum $100) up to a maximum of $250. The breeding facility must then be inspected by the Board of Animal Health to verify compliance with Minnesota Statutes 347.57 to 347.64.
Questions about this form? Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
If you have less than 10 animals, you may not qualify as a commercial breeder. Please email email@example.com if you have questions.
Certifications (check all that are true):
Commercial Dog or Cat Breeder Public Listing
The Minnesota Board of Animal Health is required to post a list of all licensed commercial dog or cat breeders on its website pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 347.58. The list will include only the name(s) of each licensed commercial dog or cat breeder.
Please indicate below the ways you want your facility to be listed.