1 Minnesota Laws and Rules 2 Kennels

Minnesota Statutes

347.31 Definitions.

Subdivision 1. **Terms**. For the purpose of sections 347.31 to 347.40 the terms defined in this section have the meanings given to them.

Subd. 2. **Kennel**. "Kennel" means any place, building, tract of land, abode, or vehicle wherein or whereupon dogs or cats are kept, congregated, or confined, if the dogs or cats were obtained from municipalities, pounds, auctions, or by advertising for unwanted dogs or cats, or dogs or cats strayed, abandoned, or stolen. "Kennel" does not include a pound owned and operated by any political subdivision of the state or a person's home where dogs or cats are kept as pets.

Subd. 3. **Premises**. "Premises" means any building, structure, shelter, or land wherein or whereon dogs or cats are kept or confined.

Subd. 4. **Dealer**. "Dealer" means a public or private agency, person, society, or corporation that is licensed or is required to be licensed as a "Class B dealer" under United States Code, title 7, sections 2131 to 2155, as amended through December 31, 1986, who sells or transfers dogs or cats to institutions or to other dealers who sell or transfer to institutions.

Subd. 5. **Institution**. "Institution" means a school or college of agriculture, veterinary medicine, medicine, pharmacy, dentistry, or other educational or scientific organization properly concerned with the investigation of living organisms, instruction concerning the structure or functions of living organisms, or the cause, prevention, control, or cure of diseases or abnormal conditions of human beings or animals.

347.32 License for kennel or dealer.

No person, firm, or corporation shall establish, maintain, conduct, or operate a kennel or operate as a dealer within this state without first obtaining a license therefor from the board of animal health. The license shall be issued for a term of one year.

347.33 Licensing procedures; inspections; administration.

Subdivision 1. **Application**. The application for a license to operate and maintain a kennel or operate as a dealer shall be made to the Board of Animal Health, in the manner prescribed by rules of the board. Subd. 2. **Contents**. The application for a license shall be in writing and on a form as the board may by rule provide, and shall set forth: (1) The full name and address of the applicant or applicants, or names and addresses of the partners if the applicant is a partnership, or the names and addresses of the officers if the applicant is a corporation, and the address of the corporation. (2) The legal description or, in its place, the address and specific location of the site, lot, field, or tract of land upon which it is proposed to operate and maintain a kennel.

Subd. 3. Fees; issuance of license. The annual license fee is \$15 for each kennel and \$100 for each dealer licensed. All license fees collected by the board shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. When application is made to the board, complete in the manner set forth by rule to be issued by the board, and upon payment of the license fee, the license shall be issued by the board if, after inspection of the premises, the board determines that the kennel or dealer complies with sections 347.31 to 347.40 and the rules promulgated pursuant to those sections.

347.34 Licenses required.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to establish, maintain, conduct, carry on, or operate a kennel or operate as a dealer without first having received a license to maintain, conduct, carry on, and operate a kennel, or operate as a dealer, duly signed and executed in the name of the state of Minnesota and signed by the Board of Animal Health. The license shall be conspicuously displayed upon the licensed premises. All licenses issued under sections 347.31 to 347.40 shall be personal to the licensee and be nontransferable.

347.35 Board of Animal Health authorized to promulgate rules.

The Board of Animal Health shall promulgate rules as it deems necessary for the operation of kennels and dealers and the enforcement of sections 347.31 to 347.40 which shall be in addition to rules established herein. The rules adopted by the board must provide for the cost recovery for the activities of the board with respect to licensing, inspection, and enforcement of civil penalties and must provide for

cooperation with the United States Department of Agriculture Animal Plant Health Inspection Service program and for reference of complaints to local enforcement authorities. Rules must include, but are not limited to, requirements governing the care of dogs and cats, minimum conditions, and maintenance of quarters and kennels, the humane treatment of dogs and cats while in the kennels, maintenance of detailed records showing the person from whom any dog or cat aged over three months has been received, and in the case of a dealer, including address, driver's license number or social security number, and to whom it has been transferred, and preservation of the records for a minimum period of two years. The dealer is responsible for making a reasonable attempt to ensure the accuracy of the data collected. A payment from a dealer to a person from whom the dealer buys dogs or cats must be by check, payable only to that person. The check must contain the dealer's name and address.

347.36 Advertising.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15 16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32 33

34

35 36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49 50

51

52

53

54

55

56

57

58

59

All advertising by any person, firm, or corporation licensed hereunder shall include the number of the current license issued to such licensee.

347.37 Public access; notice; inspection; enforcement.

The Board of Animal Health shall cause to be inspected from time to time all kennels and dealers licensed hereunder and all records required by sections 347.31 to 347.40 to be kept by the licensees. Any duly authorized agent of the board, any sheriff, or sheriff's deputy, or police officer, or humane agent appointed pursuant to section 343.01 is granted the power and the authority to enter upon the premises of any kennel or dealer at any time during the daylight hours for the purposes herein set forth, and for the purposes of inspecting the compliance with the provisions of sections 346.55, 347.31 to 347.40 and the rules issued pursuant thereto, and for the purposes of enforcing sections 346.55, or 347.31 to 347.40; except that humane agents shall not enter upon the premises of a licensed veterinarian acting as a kennel. Each dealer shall post a conspicuous notice in a format no less than 24 by 36 inches and easily readable by the general public, that states: (1) that the person is a licensed dealer in dogs and cats; (2) that dogs and cats left with the dealer may be used for research purposes; and (3) the hours the dealer is open to the public. The notice must be placed in at least two locations on the premises, one of which must be on or near the exterior mail delivery point and one of which must be at the regularly used point of exchange of dogs and cats. A person may view dogs and cats in the custody of a dealer during the time the premises is open to the public. Dealers are required to be open to the public on a regular basis at least four hours between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. on at least four of the seven days of each week including at least one Saturday or Sunday. Any advertisement placed by a dealer seeking dogs or cats must inform the public that dogs and cats brought to the dealer may be used for research purposes.

347.38 Revocation of license.

The Board of Animal Health may as hereinafter set forth revoke or suspend the license of any person, firm, or corporation, for violation of sections 346.55 and 347.31 to 347.40 or the rules issued pursuant to sections 347.31 to 347.40. Upon written complaint made to the board by any person, firm, or corporation alleging any violation of sections 347.31 to 347.40 or any rules pursuant thereto by any licensee, the board may cause an investigation to be made upon matters related in said complaint. Thereupon the board shall in its discretion either dismiss the complaint or require the kennel or dealer against whom the complaint is made to correct the conditions or violations complained of within ten days after receipt of written notice of the same. If upon termination of the ten day period the licensee has failed to correct or to remedy the violation or violations of sections 346.55 or 347.40 or any rules pursuant thereto, or if the board considers it appropriate under the circumstances the board shall, upon a minimum of 30 days' notice to the licensee, conduct a hearing for the purpose of determining whether the license to operate a kennel or as a dealer should be revoked or temporarily suspended. If after notice and hearing the board finds that any provision of sections 346.55 or 347.31 to 347.40 has been violated by the licensee or any rule issued by the board has been violated by the licensee, the board may revoke and suspend the license. The possession or transfer of a dog or cat by a dealer to an institution, without the permission of the owner, failure of a dealer or kennel to keep accurate data as required in section 347.35, or failure of a dealer or kennel to permit access to its premises as required in section 347.37, is grounds for license revocation. The licensee whose license is revoked or suspended may within 20 days after the board's decision appeal to the district court. The district court shall upon 20 days' notice to the board hear the appeal within 45 days after the filing of the appeal. On the hearing of the appeal the court shall review the decision of the board in a manner as though reviewed by certiorari, except that new or additional evidence may be taken, if in the opinion of the court additional evidence is necessary or proper to the disposition of the case.

1

3

4

5

347.39 Penalties.

Violation of any provision of sections 347.31 to 347.40 or of any rule of the Board of Animal Health issued pursuant to sections 347.31 to 347.40, or operation of a kennel or as a dealer without a license, or operation of a kennel or as a dealer after revocation of a license or during a period of suspension, shall constitute a misdemeanor.

6 7 8

9

10

347.40 Exceptions.

Sections 347.31 to 347.40 shall in no way apply to any veterinarian licensed to practice in the state of Minnesota who keeps, congregates, or confines dogs or cats in the normal pursuit of the practice of veterinary medicine.

11 12

Minnesota Rules

13 14 15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29 30

31

33

1721.0520 Kennels.

Subpart 1. **Kennels and kennel dealers; licenses.** A person licensed by the board to operate as a kennel or kennel dealer must comply with this part and must apply for a license in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 347.31 to 347.40.

Subp. 2. **Inspections.** Periodic inspections must be made pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 347.37. Upon request, the board must be allowed to inspect any building or structure on a premises where a kennel is operated.

Subp. 3. **Veterinary care.** A kennel or kennel dealer must establish and maintain a program of disease control and prevention, euthanasia, and adequate veterinary care under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian. A written program of veterinarian care, signed and dated by the veterinarian and kennel manager, must be kept on file at the kennel and available for review by the board upon request. The program of veterinary care must be reviewed by the kennel manager and veterinarian annually and updated as needed. The veterinarian must visit the facility as often as necessary to supervise the program, with a minimum of an annual visit. Sick or injured animals must receive veterinary care promptly.

- Subp. 4. **Control of pests.** The kennel or kennel dealer shall establish and maintain an effective program for the control of insects, ectoparasites, rodents, and other pests.
- 32 Subp. 5. **Kennel premises and facilities.** All licensed kennels must meet the following requirements.
 - A. All housing facilities must be structurally sound and maintained in good repair.
- B. All animals must be housed in an indoor facility maintained at a temperature of not less than 50 degrees Fahrenheit. Animals may be provided temporary access to outdoor runs and exercise areas when appropriate for the species, breed, and weather conditions.
- C. All housing facilities must have at least eight hours of illumination, either natural or artificial, sufficient to permit routine inspection and cleaning.
- D. All housing facilities must be adequately ventilated. Drafts, odors, and moisture condensation must be minimized. Auxiliary ventilation, such as exhaust fans, vents, and air conditioning, must be used when the ambient temperature exceeds 85 degrees Fahrenheit at the floor level.
- E. Carcass and garbage disposal facilities must be provided and managed to minimize vermin infestation, odors, and disease hazards.
- F. Adequate storage and refrigeration must be provided and managed to protect food supplies against contamination and deterioration. Open bags of food must be stored in vermin-proof containers.
- 46 G. The premises, housing facilities, exercise areas, and confinement areas must be cleaned and disinfected as often as necessary to maintain a clean and sanitary condition. Animal confinement areas
- 48 must be cleaned at least once daily. Measures must be taken to protect animals from being splattered 49 with water or feces and from exposure to harmful chemicals during cleaning. Bedding, if used, must be
- kept clean and dry. Outdoor runs and exercise areas must be kept clean and soiled base material must be replaced as necessary.
- 52 Subp. 6. Animal housing and confinement areas.
- A. Confinement areas must be of sufficient size to allow each dog or cat to turn about fully and to stand,
- sit, and lie in a comfortable, normal position. The confinement area must be constructed so as to prevent
- 55 injury to the dog or cat. Interior surfaces of indoor confinement areas must be constructed and maintained
- so that they are substantially impervious to moisture, provide for rapid drainage, and may be readily
- 57 cleaned.
- 58 B. Dogs or cats must not be confined by chains or by tethering.

- 1 C. For animals housed in the same primary confinement area: (1) dogs or cats must be maintained in a
- 2 compatible group; (2) puppies or kittens must not be housed with adult dogs or cats other than their dam;
- 3 (3) any dog or cat exhibiting a vicious disposition must be housed separately; and (4) females in estrus
- 4 must not be confined in the same confinement area with males.
- 5 D. Dogs or cats with clinical signs of infectious, contagious, or communicable disease must be separated
- 6 from other dogs or cats.
- 7 Subp. 7. Feeding of dogs and cats.
- 8 A. Dogs and cats must be fed at least once a day with clean, wholesome food sufficient to meet the
- 9 normal daily nutritive requirements for the dog's or cat's age, size, and condition. Feed standards must be
- 10 those recommended by the National Research Council.
- B. Clean potable water must be made available to all dogs and cats at least twice daily for periods of not 11
- 12 less than one hour.
- 13 C. All feeding and watering receptacles must be kept clean and sanitary. The receptacles must be
- 14 accessible to each animal and located so as to minimize contamination by excreta. Disposable food
- 15 receptacles must be discarded when soiled.
- 16 Subp. 8. **Identification.** Each dog and cat in a kennel must be identified with a numbered tag affixed to
- 17 the neck by the means of a collar, identification attached to the cage, microchip, or by other means
- 18 approved by the board.
- 19 Subp. 9. **Records.** Records required in this part must be maintained for a minimum of two years and
- 20 available to duly authorized agents upon demand at any reasonable time. A licensed kennel or kennel
- dealer must maintain the following records for each animal handled: 21
- 22 A. the date of acquisition and disposition;
- 23 B. the name and address of the person from whom a dog or cat was received and, in the case of a kennel
- 24 dealer, the person's driver's license number or Social Security number;
- 25 C. the identification of each dog or cat confined to the premises;
- 26 D. description of the dog or cat by approximate age, breed, and sex, and other distinguishing traits;
- 27 E. the name and address of the person to whom a dog or cat was transferred;
- 28 F. the history of disease conditions diagnosed by a veterinarian or diagnostic laboratory on animals
- 29 housed on the premises; and
- 30 G. for impounded or stray animals, the location at which the animal was found or taken.
- 31 Subp. 10. Holding period for impounded or stray animals.
- 32 A. With the exception of items B and C, an impounded or stray animal must be held for redemption by the
- 33 owner for at least five regular business days or for a longer time specified by statute or municipal
- 34 ordinance.
- 35 B. Upon a proper determination by a licensed veterinarian, an impounded or stray animal may be
- 36 immediately euthanized if the animal is physically suffering and is beyond cure through reasonable care 37 and treatment.
- 38 C. An impounded or stray animal that has bitten a human may be euthanized and tested for rabies before 39 the required five-day holding period if requested by the Department of Health.
- 40 Subp. 11. Transportation of dogs and cats. A dog or cat must be transported in a vehicle equipped with
- 41 ample cargo space and confinement areas. The dog and cat cargo space must be constructed and
- 42 arranged to prevent injuries from fighting and allow for compatible grouping in terms of age, breed, size,
- 43 and disposition. Separate confinement areas must be provided for females in estrus. A dog or cat must
- 44 not be placed in a confinement area over other animals unless the upper confinement area is constructed 45 to prevent excreta from entering the lower confinement area. All confinement areas and cargo space
- 46 must be cleaned and disinfected between uses. The number of dogs or cats transported at one time must
- 47 not exceed the number that can ride comfortably. Vehicles must be adequately equipped to provide
- 48 sufficient ventilation and still protect the dogs or cats from the elements, injurious drafts, and exhaust
- 49
- Subp. 12. Dogs or cats may not be used for breeding. No person shall allow a dog or cat housed in a 50
- 51 kennel facility to be used for breeding. This part does not apply to a veterinary clinic licensed to operate a
- 52 kennel.
- 53 Subp. 13. Complaints and cost recovery.
- 54 A. The board may investigate a written complaint alleging a violation of Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 55 347.31 to 347.40, or these rules, in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 347.38
- 56 B. Money from license fees, fines, penalties, or deposits under Minnesota Statutes, section 346.55 or
- 57 347.31 to 347.40, must be deposited into the general fund.