Questions and answers

Why does the Board collect fees or monetary fines?

The Board collects payments for program license and inspection fees as required under Minnesota law. These fees are utilized to support Board programs that keep Minnesota’s domestic animals and human communities healthy.

The Board may also assess monetary fines (known as administrative or civil penalties) to Minnesota residents who fail to comply with Minnesota laws enforced by the Board.

When are fees or monetary fines due?

Inspection and license fee due-dates vary depending on the program. Refer to the specific program information listed below for details.

Monetary fines are due within 30 days of issuance.

How will I be notified when a payment is due?

The Board will mail or e-mail you a reminder according to the timeline listed under the specific program information below.

How do I submit a payment to the Board?

Payments may be submitted on the Board’s website (refer to the links for specific payment types below).

You can also mail a check or money order to:

Minnesota Board of Animal Health
625 Robert St. N.
St. Paul, MN 55155

Do not send cash.

What do I do if I am unable to make a payment?

You may complete the Request for Payment Plan form and submit to Dr. Courtney Wheeler at courtney.wheeler@state.mn.us or contact Dr. Wheeler at 651-201-6800 to discuss payment options.

What happens if I can’t or don’t make my payment by the due date?

An agent of the Board will contact you to discuss payment options. Continued failure to pay may result in assessment of a late fee, administrative/civil penalty or referral to the Minnesota Department of Revenue for debt collection.

Who do I contact if I have questions about my payment?

If you have questions about why you owe a payment please contact the Program Administrator or the Director of the Accountable division. If you have administrative questions about a payment (i.e. how to submit a payment, if a payment was received, and the status of your payment), please contact the Board’s Business and Financial Division at 651-201-6840.

Administrative or Civil Penalty

A person who violates Minnesota animal health laws, a special order, standard, stipulation, agreement, or schedule of compliance is subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 as determined by the Board. All penalty orders require corrective actions to resolve compliance problems and payment of the civil penalty within 30 days.

Click here to pay civil or administrative penalty online

Commercial Dog and Cat Breeder License Fee

To become licensed, a commercial breeder must submit a license application accompanied by the initial license fee. The fee for licensure is $10 per adult intact animal up to a maximum of $250.

A license holder must apply for license renewal annually by submitting a renewal application and license fee.  The license renewal application and fee must be postmarked or submitted electronically in a method approved by the Board by July 1 of each year.

The Board may assess a late renewal penalty of up to 50 percent of the license fee. If a license is not renewed by August 1, the Board may require the commercial breeder to reapply for an initial license (Minnesota Statute §347.58, Subd. 1).

Click here to pay license fee or renewal online

Important Dates:

(Please note that these dates are target dates and subject to change. Actual dates may vary based on resource allocation. If the target date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or state-observed holiday, the date will default to the following business day).

  • May 1: License Fee Statements e-mailed or mailed
  • July 1: License Fee payments due (payments must be post marked by this date)
  • July 2: Assessment of late renewal penalty
  • August 2: Late renewal penalty and license fee due
  • August 3: Contact from Board agent regarding overdue payment
  • August 13: Notification of Debt Referral
  • September 3: Debt Referred

Farmed Cervidae Annual Inspection Fee

To register a farmed Cervidae herd, the owner must submit a registration application and inventory report to the Board with a check for the annual inspection fee.

For each herd, the owner must, on or before January 1, pay an annual inspection fee to the Board. The fee is $500 for producers that manage their herd for profit or monetary gain, engage in transactions or exchanges for consideration, sell the ability to shoot animals in the herd, or if the herd consists of more than one species. The fee is $250 for all other herds (Minnesota Statute §35.155, Subd. 7).

Click here to pay annual inspection fee online

Important Dates:

(Please note that these dates are target dates and subject to change. Actual dates may vary based on resource allocation. If the target date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or state-observed holiday, the date will default to the following business day).

  • November 1: Annual Inspection Fee Statements e-mailed or mailed
  • December 31: Annual Inspection Fee payments due (payments must be post marked by this date)
  • January 5: Contact from Board agent regarding overdue payment 
  • January 15: Notification of Debt Referral or Civil Penalty
  • February 15: Debt Referred and/or Civil Penalty Assessed    

Kennel License Fee

To obtain a kennel license, the owner must submit a license application to the Board of Animal Health along with a check for $15.00 to cover the annual license fee (Minnesota Statute §347.33, Subd. 3). The license must be renewed annually by submitting an annual license fee and other documentation as required to the Board.

Click here to pay license fee online

Important Dates:

(Please note that these dates are target dates and subject to change. Actual dates may vary based on resource allocation. If the target date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or state-observed holiday, the date will default to the following business day).

  • November 1: License Fee Statements e-mailed or mailed
  • December 31: License Fee payments due (payments must be post marked by this date)
  • January 5: Contact from Board agent regarding overdue payment
  • January 15: Notification of Debt Referral or Civil Penalty
  • February 15: Debt Referred and/or Civil Penalty Assessed