A person who raises farmed cervidae (deer or elk) in Minnesota must be registered with the Board of Animal Health and meet all the requirements specified in Minnesota Statutes 32.153, 35.155 and Minnesota rules 1721.0370 to 1721.04.
“Cervidae” means animals that are members of the family Cervidae and includes, but is not limited to, white-tailed deer, mule deer, red deer, elk, moose, caribou, reindeer, and muntjac.
“Farmed cervidae” means cervidae that are raised for any purpose and are registered in a manner approved by the Board of Animal Health. Farmed cervidae are livestock and are not wild animals for purposes of game farm, hunting, or wildlife laws.
To register a farmed cervidae herd, the owner must submit a registration application and inventory report to the Board of Animal Health along with a check for the annual inspection fee. As of July 1, 2019, the fee is $500 for producers that manage their herd for profit or monetary gain, engage in transaction or exchanges for consideration, sell the ability to shoot animals in the herd, or if the herd consists of more than one species. The fee is $250 for all other herds.
Each farmed cervidae facility must be inspected by the Board of Animal Health each year to verify compliance with Minnesota Statutes 35.153, 35.155 and Minnesota rules 1721.0370 to 1721.04.