For immediate release: June 24, 2015
Contact: Michael Crusan
Commercial Dog and Cat Breeder Program
License requirements become mandatory beginning July 1
Beginning July 1, 2015, each commercial dog or cat breeder in Minnesota must obtain an annual license from the Minnesota Board of Animal Health. This is one of the requirements in new laws for commercial dog and cat breeders passed during the 2014 Legislative Session (Minnesota Statutes 347.57 – 347.64).
“We have been directed to enforce these new laws for commercial breeders,” said Dr. Bill Hartmann, executive director of the Board of Animal Health. “We take this responsibility very seriously and will work with our commercial dog and cat breeders to make sure they understand and meet these new requirements. The Board has a long history of collaboration with livestock producers and animal owners. Working together on this program will be no different.”
A commercial breeder is defined in the new laws as a person who possesses or has an ownership interest in animals (dogs or cats) and is engaged in the business of breeding animals for sale or for exchange in return for consideration, and who possesses ten or more adult intact animals and whose animals produce more than five total litters of puppies or kittens per year.
To become licensed, the owner of a commercial breeding facility must submit a license application accompanied by an initial license fee to the Board of Animal Health. The fee for licensure is $10 per adult intact animal up to a maximum of $250. The commercial breeding facility must then be inspected by a Board of Animal Health representative to confirm that the facility is operated in a manner that meets all the requirements in the new laws.
Application forms and other helpful tools for commercial dog or cat breeders can be found on the Board’s website at www.bah.state.mn.us or may be requested by calling (651) 201-6810.