ALERT:

The Board of Animal Health is currently operating under telework and staggered shifts for all St. Paul and MPTL office employees during the COVID-19 pandemic.

We will continue to serve the people and animals of our state to the best of our ability with minimal interruption of our services. The majority of our phone lines have been forwarded and may not be answered. Please leave a message and our staff will return your call as soon as they are able.

In order to reduce delays in our permit request phone line, we also made an online import permit request form available to for imported cattle/bison and restricted movement sheep/goats.

You can also try to contact us via email at one of the addresses below:


Our office is located in St. Paul on the Capitol complex. We share space in the Orville L. Freeman building with the Minnesota Departments of Agriculture and Health.

625 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55155

St. Paul Office

Main Line 651-296-2942
Fax Line 651-296-7417
USDA St. Paul Office 651-234-5680
USDA Export Office 608-662-0630
Brands 651-201-6827
Companion Animals, Swine, Horses, Carcass Disposal, and Rendering 651-201-6824
CVI Orders 651-201-6845
Farmed Cervidae 651-201-6804
Import Permits 651-201-6832
Markets, Sales and Exhibitions 651-201-6826
Media/Reporter Inquiry 651-201-6830
Rabies 651-201-6808
Sheep/Goats 651-201-6809
Crusan, Michael
Communications Director
651-201-6815
michael.crusan@state.mn.us
Glaser, Linda
Assistant Director
651-201-6828
linda.glaser@state.mn.us
Grelson, Morgan
Human Resources
651-201-6846
morgan.grelson@state.mn.us
Hoefs, Brian
Senior Veterinarian
651-201-6825
brian.hoefs@state.mn.us
Schwabenlander, Stacey
Senior Veterinarian
651-201-6813
stacey.schwabenlander@state.mn.us
Suskovic, Greg
Senior Veterinarian
651-238-2503
greg.suskovic@state.mn.us
Thompson, Beth
Executive Director
651-201-6844
beth.thompson@state.mn.us
Wheeler, Courtney
Senior Veterinarian
651-201-6800
courtney.wheeler@state.mn.us

Minnesota Poultry Testing Laboratory

The Minnesota Poultry Testing Laboratory (MPTL) is a cooperative venture of the Board of Animal Health and University of Minnesota. Contact the MPTL for information on bird and poultry imports, programs and testing.

622 Business Hwy 71 NE
P.O. Box 126
Willmar, MN 56201

Main Line 320-231-5170
Fax 320-231-6071
Lauer, Dale
Assistant Director
320-441-4050
dale.lauer@state.mn.us
Voss, Shauna
Senior Veterinarian
320-441-4055
shauna.voss@state.mn.us

Find Field Staff Nearby

We also have staff members stationed throughout the state. Find your local animal health official on our map below. Board staff are green squares and USDA staff are blue squares. Office locations marked with yellow circles.