The Minnesota Board of Animal Health is guided by a five-member citizen board appointed by the governor. Board members serve four-year terms and may be reappointed. Under Minnesota Statutes, three of the board members must be livestock producers and two must be practicing veterinarians.

The board members elect a president and vice-president and also annually appoint a veterinarian to serve as the state veterinarian and executive director of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health. The board meets quarterly. Board meeting notices are posted on the Board’s website and meetings are open to the public.

Contact the Board Members

Dean Compart | President of the Board and Swine Producer, Nicollet

Holly Neaton, DVM | Vice President of the Board and Veterinarian, Watertown (Dr. Neaton is an outgoing member of the board)

Paul Hanowski | Poultry Producer, Swanville

Matt Anderson, DVM | Veterinarian, Zumbrota

Peter Ripka | Cattle Producer, Ogilvie

*Appointee Graham Brayshaw, DVM will officially begin his duties on Wednesday, September 7, 2016.

Next Meeting of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health

The next quarterly meeting of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health will be held at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, September 7, 2016. The meeting is in the auditorium at the MinnWest Technology Campus:

1800 Technology Dr NE
Willmar, MN 56201

The agenda listed below is only a draft.

Agenda Items

9:30 a.m.

Call meeting to order – Dean Compart

Notice of Meeting

Approval of Minutes

Approval of Agenda

9:35 a.m.

College of Veterinary Medicine – Trevor Ames

Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory update – Jerry Torrison

USDA update – Stephan Schaefbauer

Budget/finance update :  emergency planning РMorgan Grelson

Newcastle Disease in cormorants – Dale Lauer, Greg Suskovic

Overview of MPTL operations – Dale Lauer

NPIP update – Dale Lauer

Seneca Virus update – Greg Suskovic

Salmonella in baby poultry – Shauna Voss, Stacy Holzbauer