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Minnesota Commercial Dog or Cat Breeders 
Frequently Asked Questions 

 

What is a commercial dog or cat breeder? 

 
Under Minnesota law (MS 347.57‐347.64), a "Commercial Breeder" means a person who possesses or 
has an ownership interest in dogs or cats and is engaged in the business of breeding dogs or cats for sale 
or for exchange in return for consideration, and who possesses ten or more adult intact animals and 
whose animals produce more than five total litters of puppies or kittens per year. 
 

If I am a commercial dog or cat breeder in Minnesota, do I need to be licensed? 

 
Beginning July 1, 2015, a commercial breeder of dogs or cats in Minnesota must obtain an annual license 
for each facility it owns or operates. This includes passing an inspection conducted by the Board. Until 
that date, licensing is optional. 
 

Can I become licensed right away? 

 
There is no reason to wait. The Board of Animal Health is prepared to inspect and license commercial 
dog and cat breeders. 
 

How much does a license cost? 

 
The annual licensure fee is $10 per adult sexually intact animal up to a maximum of $250. There is no 
financial penalty for early licensure. For those who become licensed before July 1, 2015, the initial 
license period will be from the date the application is approved by the Board until July 1, 2016. 
 

What are the requirements for commercial dog or cat breeders? 

 
Commercial dog or cat breeders in Minnesota must comply with the requirements regarding dogs and 
cats as specified in Minnesota Statutes Chapters 343, 346 and 347.57 to 347.64.  
 
You can also view our inspection form and read about what we look for during inspections by visiting 
our website at  www.bah.state.mn.us/dogs‐cats.  
 

How do I apply for a license? 

Application forms and instructions may be found on our website at www.bah.state.mn.us/dogs‐cats or 
may be requested by calling the Board at (651) 201‐6810. 
 


